Anglican General Synod

Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia

Te Hahi Mihinare ki Aotearoa ki Niu Tireni, ki Nga Moutere o Te Moana Nui a Kiwa


The Anglican Church in Aotearoa New Zealand and Polynesia expects high standards of all its ministers.

You can expect these standards of ministry to be upheld by any minister you encounter.

See what these standards are here: 

A complaint may be made against any minister who you consider has failed to uphold one or more of these standards. 

A complaint may be lodged by any person, whether or not that person is the subject of that complaint.


Registrar contact - for any complaint

All complaints about any alleged misconduct or unsatisfactory conduct by an ordained minister, licensed person, or office holder are received and handled by the independent Registrar of the Ministry Standards Commission.

Confidential contact:

Ministry Standards Registrar
c/- P O Box 87188,
Auckland 1742


The current Registrar is retired judge, the Hon Dr John Priestley QC.


You may use this complaint form - 

2 Complaint Form 32.89 kB


“Misconduct” means any intentional, significant or continuing departure from the Standards of Ministry set out in Canon I;

(See Title D/Canon I linked above) 

“Unsatisfactory conduct” is a failure to observe Standards Required of Ministers which does not amount to misconduct.


The procedures for handling complaints are laid out in detail in Title D/ Canon III here:  


The process is summarised in this simple flowchart:

Process 128.62 kB

© Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia

Follow us on Facebook: Anglican-Church-in-Aotearoa-New-Zealand-Polynesia

It is our hope that the information contained here will enable Anglicans and others to be informed of the ministry of this Church. The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia, is a constitutionally autonomous member of the worldwide Anglican Communion. The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia encompasses the area described by its title. The 1992 Constitution of this Church provides for three partners to order their affairs within their own cultural context. Within Aotearoa New Zealand, Tikanga Pakeha comprises seven Dioceses, Tikanga Maori comprises five Amorangi, the boundaries of which differ from those of the dioceses. Tikanga Pasefika encompasses Fiji, Tonga, Samoa and the Cook Islands, and is known as the Diocese of Polynesia. Publication: 'Anglican Taonga' (Treasure) is a publication affirming the unity and diversity of the Anglican community in these islands. .

All rights reserved |  Disclaimer |  Login

eZ Publish site developed by Quiqcorp Ltd