Anglican General Synod

Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia

Te Hahi Mihinare ki Aotearoa ki Niu Tireni, ki Nga Moutere o Te Moana Nui a Kiwa

Ministry Standards Commission

The independent Ministry Standards Commission is established under Title D/Canon II here:

Title D Canon II 35.56 kB

Members are:

Mr Matanuku Mahuika (Chair)

Ms Kate Muirhead

Ms Mele Taliai

Ms Dianne Cameron

Dr Kiri Tamihere-Waititi

(See below for brief bios)


The Commission's responsibilities in the Canon are:



to give general advice to Bishops and the Primates as to matters of discipline;




to issue guidelines on vetting processes for candidates for ordination;




to issue codes of practice and general policy guidance to persons exercising functions in connection with ministry standards including on training required in relation to ministry standards;




to audit the approach of Episcopal Units of this Church to the training and monitoring of Ministers;




to issue regulations relating to the conduct of disciplinary proceedings and guidance on the publication of information in relation to the disciplinary processes of this Church;




to maintain a list of those qualified and prepared to act as Church Advocates and make arrangements for the provision of funding to recompense those appointed as such;




to maintain a list of those qualified to serve on tribunals;




to appoint a Registrar and agree the terms of appointment with him or her;




to give advice to the Registrar on matters of tikanga and doctrine when the Registrar is carrying out functions under this Title D;




to maintain a list of persons who can act as chaplains to provide pastoral support both to complainants and respondents; and




to report at each session of the General Synod / te Hīnota Whānui on its work.



All complaints about any alleged misconduct or unsatisfactory conduct by an ordained minister, licensed person, or office holder are received and handled by the independent Registrar of the Ministry Standards Commission.


Brief Bios of Commission Members 

Chair of the Ministry Standards Commission: Matanuku Mahuika (Ngati Porou, Ngati Raukawa) who is a senior lawyer and founding partner of the Wellington-based law firm Kahui Legal and has been in corporate and private practise since 1991. 
Matanuku advises on a wide range of corporate, commercial, Treaty of Waitangi, Maori Land and Public Law issues.  Formerly in corporate governance for Sealord Group and Aotearoa Fisheries, he is currently Chair of the Ngāti Porou Holding Company and the Eastland Group. 

Mele Taliai, who is a lawyer based in Friendship Chambers Manukau, Auckland. She has worked in Manukau since 1999 and has provided legal clinics at the Māngere Citizens’ Advice Bureau and on Radio 531 PI. She is a member of the St John’s College Trust Board and the Anglican Church’s Judiciary Committee. She has served on the National Ethics Committee for Health and Disability and as a Trustee of Ta Pasefika Primary Health Organisation until 2010. 

Kate Muirhead, who is a litigation principal at Meredith Connell Legal in Auckland.  She is an experienced civil litigator, specialising in advising public and private sector clients on complex legal issues and acting in challenging disputes. Kate regularly appears in the Tenancy Tribunal, District Court, High Court, and Court of Appeal (as sole and junior counsel) on a range of civil matters, including contract, tort, equity, property and residential tenancy disputes. Kate is also a Crown prosecutor who appears on a range of criminal matters, including jury trials.

Dr Kiri Tamihere-Waititi, (Ngāti Porou, Ngāpuhi, Whakatōhea) who is a former clinical psychologist who now practices and promotes holistic community health models informed by mātauranga Māori. She is currently the head of Whānau Ora services at Te Rūnanga o Te Whānau, in Te Whānau ā Apanui, Ōpōtiki, in the Bay of Plenty. She is also leading the development of a Whānau Ora practitioner competency model for the Whānau Ora Commissioning Agency.

Dianne Cameron, who is a clinical psychologist who qualified at the University of Canterbury with an MA (Hons) (1977) and Diploma in Clinical Psychology (1978). She has been in private practice in the Waikato since 1979, apart from 11 years in Auckland from 2004-2015.  Between 1981-2014, Dianne’s work included providing specialist reports for the Family Court, mediation and advice on contact patterns for children whose parents were separated and therapy for clients with a range of mental health and life challenges. She currently works with therapeutic clients impacted by trauma, particularly sexual abuse. As a professional supervisor, Diane’s oversight includes working with psychologists, lawyers and priests. She has provided psychological assessments for ordination candidates in the Anglican Dioceses of Waikato and Auckland since 1991. She has chaired professional conduct committees for the Psychologist Board and is currently on its Conduct, Competence and Fitness Committee


The full Title D/ Canons I to VI are here:

Title D Canon I 46.70 kB


Title D Canon II 35.56 kB



Title D Canon IV 25.82 kB


Title D Canon V 25.87 kB


Title D Canon VI 29.14 kB

All rights reserved |  Disclaimer |  Login

eZ Publish site developed by Quiqcorp Ltd