Anglican General Synod

Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia

Te Hahi Mihinare ki Aotearoa ki Niu Tireni, ki Nga Moutere o Te Moana Nui a Kiwa

General Synod Working Bodies - a list

The Working Bodies of the General Synod / Te Hinota Whanui (GSTHW) of the Anglican Church in Aotearoa New Zealand and Polynesia /Te Hahi Mihinare ki Aotearoa ki Niu Tireni, Ki Nga Moutere o to Moana Nui a Kiwa.

(For further information or to contact any of these bodies contact the General Secretary under 'Contacts' in menu above)


The Standing Committee of General Synod / Te Hinota Whanui


Distribution Advisory Committee (Finance)

Employment Sub-Committee

Order Paper Committee (for GSTHW)


Small Working Groups:

Communications Commission Review

General Conference Planning

Ordained Ministry Resources

Oceania Regional Forum Proposal

Reinvestment of Divestment

Safety Policy

Social Media

Social Justice Commission Restructure

Youth Commission Review

Way Forward Report Release


General Synod Commissions/ Working Groups (established by Canon)

Commission on Communications -

Commission on Doctrine and Theological Questions

Commission on Treaty and Partnership Issues

Common Life Liturgical Commission

Social Justice Commission -

Te Kotahitanga (includes Kinder Library Oversight Committee)

Tikanga Toru Youth Commission -

Treaty / Tiriti, Church and Nation Commission

(And, established by resolution of General Synod te Hinota Whanui, 2014)

Decade of Mission Commission (2015-2025)

Way Forward Working Group (on same gender blessing and ordination)



Anglican Insurance Board -

Anglican Missions Board -

General Church Trust Board

New Zealand Anglican Church Pension Board (incorporating the Anglican Legislation Unit)

St John’s College Trust Board



Council for Ecumenism

Council for Anglican Women’s Studies



Archives and History Committee / Te Puna o Nehera

Judicial Committee



Church Lands Tribunal

Tribunal on Doctrine

Tribunal under the Church of England Empowering Act 1928

© Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia

Follow us on Facebook: Anglican-Church-in-Aotearoa-New-Zealand-Polynesia

It is our hope that the information contained here will enable Anglicans and others to be informed of the ministry of this Church. The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia, is a constitutionally autonomous member of the worldwide Anglican Communion. The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia encompasses the area described by its title. The 1992 Constitution of this Church provides for three partners to order their affairs within their own cultural context. Within Aotearoa New Zealand, Tikanga Pakeha comprises seven Dioceses, Tikanga Maori comprises five Amorangi, the boundaries of which differ from those of the dioceses. Tikanga Pasefika encompasses Fiji, Tonga, Samoa and the Cook Islands, and is known as the Diocese of Polynesia. Publication: 'Anglican Taonga' (Treasure) is a publication affirming the unity and diversity of the Anglican community in these islands. .

All rights reserved |  Disclaimer |  Login

eZ Publish site developed by Quiqcorp Ltd