Anglican General Synod

Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia

Te Hahi Mihinare ki Aotearoa ki Niu Tireni, ki Nga Moutere o Te Moana Nui a Kiwa

Diocese of Auckland

Present Bishop

2010 - The Right Reverend Ross Graham Bay, BTh, Dip in Past Theol

PO Box 37242, Parnell, Auckland 1151

Tel: 09 302 7201, Fax: 09 302 7217


Jurisd ‑ The Northern Portion of the original Diocese of Auckland; Area 24,033 sq kms: Census Pop: 1,593,413 (2013); Ch Pop: 141,714 (2013); Description of Arms, Azure, three estoiles of eight points one and two argent.

Former Bishops

1841 ‑ G A Selwyn, 1869
1869 ‑ W G Cowie, 1902
1903 ‑ M R Neligan, 1910
1911 ‑ OTL Crossley, 1913
1914 ‑ A W Averill, 1940
1940 ‑ W J Simkin, 1960
1960 ‑ E A Gowing, 1978
1979 ‑ P A Reeves, 1985
1985 ‑ B C Gilberd, 1994

1995 - J C Paterson, 2010

Vicar General

The Right Reverend James Andrew White

Deputy Vicar General

The Venerable Carole Hughes

The Venerable Michael Berry

Chancellor of the Diocese

The Worshipful Bruce Gray, QC

Cathedral of the Holy Trinity


The Very Reverend Anne Mills (from July 2017)
PO Box 37-148 Parnell, Auckland 1151
Tel: 09 373 3424 (Deanery) 09 303 9500 (Office), Fax: 09 302 7215

Diocesan Manager/Registrar

Ms Sonia Maugham


Diocesan Office

Neligan House, 12 St Stephens Ave, Parnell, Auckland 1052
PO Box 37-242, Parnell, Auckland 1151
Tel: 09 302 7201
Email: Website:


The Venerable Carole Hughes, (Northern Region), Cert Adult Tchg, Dip Yth Min, BTh (Hons), ACM, MTh


The Venerable Michael Berry, (Southern Region), RNZNR, BTheol, BA


The Venerable Sarah Moss, (Ministry Review & Planning), BTheol, DipTchg



The Reverend Anne Moody - Chaplain for Retired Clergy  


Ministry Educator

The Reverend Sarah Park, BTh, D Min


Bishop's Commissary in England

The Venerable Jo Kelly-Moore, BA, LLB, BD  

The Archdeaconry, 29 The Precincts, Canterbury, Kent CT1 2EP, United Kingdom  

Honorary Lay Canons

Mrs M A Ferrier

Miss M D Jones OBE

Mrs R Bridgman

Mrs M Glasgow

The Venerable T F Tuatagaloa

Canons Retired  

The Reverend T R Everall  

Canon Emeritus  

The Reverend M O’Connor

Hospital Chaplains

Auckland DHB

The Reverend H Milne

Waitemata DHB

The Reverend S Tu'ungafasi

Northland DHB

The Reverend S Green

Neligan House, 12 St Stephens Ave, Parnell, Auckland
WEB:Anglican Diocese of Auckland
PHONE: 09 302 7201

Contact Form

Diocese of Auckland

© Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia

Follow us on Facebook: Anglican-Church-in-Aotearoa-New-Zealand-Polynesia

It is our hope that the information contained here will enable Anglicans and others to be informed of the ministry of this Church. The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia, is a constitutionally autonomous member of the worldwide Anglican Communion. The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia encompasses the area described by its title. The 1992 Constitution of this Church provides for three partners to order their affairs within their own cultural context. Within Aotearoa New Zealand, Tikanga Pakeha comprises seven Dioceses, Tikanga Maori comprises five Amorangi, the boundaries of which differ from those of the dioceses. Tikanga Pasefika encompasses Fiji, Tonga, Samoa and the Cook Islands, and is known as the Diocese of Polynesia. Publication: 'Anglican Taonga' (Treasure) is a publication affirming the unity and diversity of the Anglican community in these islands. .

All rights reserved |  Disclaimer |  Login

eZ Publish site developed by Quiqcorp Ltd