Anglican General Synod

Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia

Te Hahi Mihinare ki Aotearoa ki Niu Tireni, ki Nga Moutere o Te Moana Nui a Kiwa

Diocese of Christchurch

Present Bishop

2018 - vacant

PO Box 4438 Christchurch 8140

Tel: 03 348 6960, Fax: 03 348 2373,



Jurisd ‑ Centre portions S Island of NZ; Area, 56,045 sq miles Census Pop: 545,188 (2013); Ch Pop: 14,215 (2016); Description of Arms: Azure on a Cross Argent the letters ix Gules in the first quarter three estoiles of eight points one and two Or.

Former Bishops

1856 ‑ HJC Harper, 1890
1890 ‑ C Julius, 1925
1926 ‑ C W West‑Watson, 1951
1951 ‑ A K Warren, 1966
1966 ‑ W A Pyatt, 1983
1984 ‑ M J Goodall, 1990
1990 - D J Coles, 2008

2008 - V Matthews, 2018

Vicar General

The Venerable Canon Helen Roud, MHealSc, BTheol

Deputy Vicar General


Diocesan Chancellor

Mr Jeremy Johnson, BA, LLBC (Hons), LLM

Vice Chancellor

Mr Alex Summerlee, BA, LLB (Hons)

Christ Church Cathedral

PO Box 855, Christchurch 8140


The Very Reverend Lawrence Kimberley BCom, ACA, BTh, Dip Lit Stud

Diocesan Manager

Mr Edwin Boyce

Tel: 03 348 6957

Executive Assistant to Bishop

Mrs Veronica Cross
Tel: 03 348 6701

Media and Communications

Mrs Jo Bean

Tel: 03 348-6960 ext 274


Diocesan Administration Assistant

Mr Scott Walters

Tel: 03 348 7202

Diocesan Office

Level 1-10 Logistics Drive, Harewood, Christchurch 8052

Tel: 03 348 6960

Email: Website:


The Venerable Canon Susan Baldwin, (Westland/Chatham Islands)

The Venerable Mark Barlow, BTh (Irakehu/Chaplains)

The Venerable Dr Peter R Carrell, BSc (Hons), BD, PhD (Pegasus)

The Venerable Lynette Lightfoot, SA Bible Coll (Christchurch)

The Venerable John Major, BA (Hons), MA (North Canterbury)

The Venerable Nick Mountfort, BTh, BA, CP of US & NZ Hist (Selwyn-Tawera)

The Venerable Joan Clark (Mid Canterbury)

The Venerable Indrea Alexander (South Canterbury)

The Venerable Nicky Lee (Deacons)


Archdeacons Emeritus

The Venerable Malcolm May

Diocesan Youth Ministry Developer

Mrs Sammy Mould

Director of Education / Director of Theology House

The Reverend Dr Peter R Carrell, BSc (Hons), BD, PhD

Social Justice Enabler

The Reverend Jolyon White

Tel: 03 341 3369

Young Adults Ministry Advisor

The Reverend Joshua Moore, BMin

Examining Chaplains

The Venerable Dr Peter R Carrell, BSc (Hons), BD, PhD

The Reverend Joshua S Moore, BMin

Mrs Elizabeth Kimberely

Mr Peter Catell

Clerical Canons

The Venerable Canon Helen Roud

The Reverend Canon Ben Truman

The Reverend Canon Mandy Neill

The Reverend Canon Mark Chamberlain

Lay Canons

Mrs Rosemary Allison

Mr Tony Hughes-Johnson

Mr Malcolm Rickerby

Mrs Carole Muir

Residentiary Canons

The Reverend Canon Rosalie J Hoddinott

The Reverend Canon Dr Ken N Booth

Canons Emeritus

The Reverend Canon Roger B Couper

Mr Edward D Harrall

The Reverend Canon Crauford Murray

Mr Noel Woods

Honorary Canons

The Reverend Canon David Morrell

The Reverend Canon Richard A Roberton

AAW Chaplain

The Venerable Nicky Lee

Bishopspark Chaplain

The Reverend Jan Brodie

Hospital Chaplains

The Reverend Mary Minson

The Reverend Alexa Evenden

The Reverend Alan Cummins

Police Chaplains

The Reverend Mark Barlow

Military Chaplains (within Diocese)

The Reverend Zane Elliott

University Chaplains

The Reverend Joshua Moore BMin - University of Canterbury

The Reverend Sam Knight - Lincoln University

10 Logistics Drive, Harewood, Christchurch, Christchurch
PHONE: 03 348 6960

Contact Form

© Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia

Follow us on Facebook: Anglican-Church-in-Aotearoa-New-Zealand-Polynesia

It is our hope that the information contained here will enable Anglicans and others to be informed of the ministry of this Church. The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia, is a constitutionally autonomous member of the worldwide Anglican Communion. The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia encompasses the area described by its title. The 1992 Constitution of this Church provides for three partners to order their affairs within their own cultural context. Within Aotearoa New Zealand, Tikanga Pakeha comprises seven Dioceses, Tikanga Maori comprises five Amorangi, the boundaries of which differ from those of the dioceses. Tikanga Pasefika encompasses Fiji, Tonga, Samoa and the Cook Islands, and is known as the Diocese of Polynesia. Publication: 'Anglican Taonga' (Treasure) is a publication affirming the unity and diversity of the Anglican community in these islands. .

All rights reserved |  Disclaimer |  Login

eZ Publish site developed by Quiqcorp Ltd